Of Glee I Sing


Scott Porter talks about turning down Glee role
February 23, 2010, 7:13 pm
Filed under: Guest Stars, Mentions, Ryan Murphy

You probably recognize Scott from Friday Night Lights, but he got his start off-Broadway in Altar Boyz and was also a member of Hugh Grant’s 80s pop band in Music and Lyrics. And it seems that Scott was approached to audition for Glee way back when to be a series regular.  While he has the TV and musical background, he turned it down because he thought he was too old and now he is regretting that decision. Here is what he told Parade.

He could have stayed in high school.
“Oh man, I really want to kick myself in the face for Glee because I kind of did the stupid actor thing where you go, ‘Okay, I’m at a certain point in my life now where I only want to play this guy or that guy.’ When Glee was casting, I thought, ‘I’m too old to be a student. I need to stop playing high-school kids.’ Then it came out and Ryan Murphy was like, ‘We’ve got a bunch of adults playing kids, but we don’t care, that’s our show.’ Cory Monteith is X amount of years old and he’s playing a high schooler. So I was like, ‘Dang it, I should have gone for it.'”

Ain’t too proud to beg for another chance.
“Now I’m, like, at the back door knocking, ‘Can I please come in and play on the Glee set because I beat box, I sing, I dance.’ If music’s gonna be involved, that’s my thing. I got my start in the Off-Broadway cast of Altar Boyz, so I’m like pitching ideas daily to Glee. I think it’s such a unique show. God, I love it. So there you have my regrets. I’ve laid them out on the table.”

Read the rest here.

I would love if they could find even a guest role for Scott. I want to see what he’s made of!  See Scott in Dear John and Caprica.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

